Father McMahon was the first Life Member of the Football Association in 1980. He first arrived in Broome in 1967 and during that time fulfilled the role of Parish Priest of Broome. Father McMahon was an outstanding member of the local community and his involvement in the Broome football world was second to none at both club and association level.


Kevin Bullen - Phillip Matsumoto

26 April 1992 saw two well known local identities presented with Life Membership to the West Kimberley Football Association.

Kevin Bullen and Phillip Matsumoto have both had illustrious careers in the Broome Football world both with their own clubs and the association, both off and on the ground.

As well as having outstanding playing history both Kevin and Phil held executive positions at both club and association levels.

Their involvement at both community and sporting level stretched well past football circles alone and many other organisations would not be where they are now without their involvement.

Football may never had survived without them and the Association had much pleasure in presenting them both with their Life Memberships.

In 1993, Brian Kane was presented his life membership to the association by Dr Peter Tannock, Chairman of the WA Football Commission.





In 1999, Alan Bishop was awarded a life membership of the Association

2002, Gary 'Butch' Chesson was awarded a life membership of the Association.

2013  Andrew Blackley (writeup) and Michael Albert (writeup one, two)


2015  Robert (Robbie) Wilson (submission one, two, three)


The WKFL added two new Life Members

Patrick Cox, Peninsula Bombers Football Club

Patrick’s achievements include:

•WKFL BullenMedallist: 1991, 1992, 1996
•The Kane Medal – Rising Star award in 1986
•Father McMahon Medal in 1992 Grand Final for Beagle Bay Football Club and in 2000 for Peninsula Bombers Football Club.

Brendan Cox, Peninsula Bombers Football Club

Brendan’s achievements include:

•WKFL BullenMedallist: 1999 and 2002
•4 x WKFL All Stars 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000
•President/Vice President of the PBFC from 1999 to 2014

Don McKenzie (Saints and Towns) John Thomas (Bidyadanga)


Brett Claudius (Honorary Life Member)