Formed: 1949
Disbanded: End of 1959 season.
First Captain: Tom Brown

Commonwealth consisted of personnel from the Post Office, Bank, Customs and DCA, and looked resplendent in their "Red" singlets and white shorts.
Premierships: 1949, 1951, 1958
WKFA Fairest and Best Winners: 1949 Tom Brown
Hall of Fame: Des Barker, Gill Hepburn, Mo Gower
Commonwealth defeated Towns 7.12 to 5.12 in their first game held on Sunday 24 July 1949 and were never beaten for the rest of that season. They also capped off the year by toppling Towns 10.19 to 6.11 in the Grand Final.

Mo Gower (Photo taken in 1998). Mo played during the 50's and 60's for the Commonwealth team. During this time he worked for the main roads Dept.