GRAND FINAL (Saturday 3rd Sept - 2:00pm)

Bidyadanga Emus 8.8.56 defeated Looma 6.12.48


This game was a battle of backlines. Looma had 5 shots for goal in the first quarter and could only manage 1 goal.  The backline led by Rowan Thomas repelled the Looma attacks.  The same could be said for Looma who kept Bidyadanga to one solitary point.  The score at quarter time - Looma 1.5 to Bidgy 0.1.  By half time Looma was 3.10 again peppering the goals but held up by the Bidgy defence who were themselves 2.4.  Rowan Thomas soared above the pack to take a 'speckie' in defense at the airport end and again nullifying Looma who were playing brilliant team footy with plenty of flair.  At 3/4 time Looma 4.12 to Bidgy 4.5.  A seven point margin which should have been much more.  The last quarter it was Bidgy's time to shine and they kicked two early goals (one from a penalty close to goal) and the game had taken a dramatic shift.  Could this be Bidyadanga's first Premiership in 12 years and only their third in the WKFL?  Again Rowan Thomas was outstanding in defence proving a thorn in the side to Looma's avenue to goal.  In a last quarter 'shootout' Bidyadanga held on to win a memorable game by 8 points.  A worthy winner of the McMahon Medal (best in the Grand Final) - Rowan Thomas.

Bidyadanga Emus 8.8.56 defeated Looma 6.12.48


2:00 PM
Sat 27 Aug

Haynes Oval 
Looma Eagles 9.10-64 FINAL 9.1-55 Broome Bulls






Bulls led handsomely at half time but only kicked one goal in the second half.  Looma used their chip, carry and running game to perfection to storm home winners

Semi Final 1
1:00 PM
Sat 20 Aug

Haynes Oval
Broome Bulls 8.12-60 FINAL 6.8-44 Saints
Semi Final 2
3:00 PM
Sat 20 Aug

Haynes Oval 
Bidyadanga Emus 12.6-78 FINAL 8.6-54 Looma Eagles



Lightning Carnival - April 9th 2016

Won by Looma Eagles who beat Saints in the final by 2 goals.

Nine male and two female teams competed in the WKFLMen's and Women's Lightning Carnival.

Also participating from the Central Kimberley was the invitational team Noonkanbah Blues.


COACH: Regan Bloomer and Assistant Coach:  Andy Henshaw




RADIO COMMENTATORS:  Ashley Dann, Mick Albert and Michael Farmer

2004 Premiership Captain Arnold Bamba and 2004 Coach: John Thomas

Judy Edgar wearing the 2004 Premiership jumpers signed by all the players.

Judy Edgar holding the 2004 Emu Premiership Flag

Field umpires:  David Burke, Tony Rogers and Peter Heal


  Louie Yanawana (centre)
Rowan Thomas (2nd Left) Rosie Munro (right)