The Grand Final

At......last....after 26 years!!!!!!!!!!!!!


  "The time has come"   GF Umpires   'Mudgedee'
Captain - Bart Pigram Robbie Wilson coach Best on ground - Mark Parriman David Pigram, Micklo Mc Kenzie - 'old men' "Oh what a feelling" Puertollano's
No 1 today 3/4 time


SAINTS Football Club are the 2005 West Kimberley Football League premiers.

Saints broke a 26 year drought with an emphatic 39 point victory against Bulls at Haynes Oval on Saturday 10.17. 77 to Bulls 6.6. 42.

Despite Bulls having had a week off Saints speed and fitness was the difference with Lloyd Pigram in particular blowing the game open in the final quarter.

Saints started the game quickly with Waylon Pigram opening the scoring almost immediately.

But any early momentum was quickly quashed when Tony Moriboto brought Bulls level.

With both sides settled the quarter played out as expected with Saints applying pressure through the midfield, but as it had done in their first finals meeting Bulls defence was rock solid with Jamie Findlay and Trent Keene holding Lane and last weeks star Bobby Dudley well.

It was the run of Waylon Pigram that gave Saints their second, but once again Bulls replied quickly through a Harris snap.

At the first quarter it was Saints by just two points.

The second term followed a similar pattern with Saints creating most of the pressure, but as they'd done all season Bulls made the most of their chances.

Saints booted the first of the quarter thanks to a free kick, but were again pegged back by an opportunistic soccer by Paul Dann at the other end.

An error from Andrew Crips resulted in a Chubby Lane goal that lifted the crowd.

Again Bulls hit back Tony Moriboto found space and his attempt on goal found Wayne Dennert a metre out to give Bulls their fourth.

Micklo McKenzie had the chance to give Saints another valuable goal on the siren, but the kick fell short and the Saints lead was just four points, 4.6. to 4.2.

Saints began the third quarter strongly, Waylon Pigram went close to extending the lead early, but was off line.

Mark Parriman, who was terrific all day, stepped up a gear and the Saints midfield again put tremendous pressure on the Bulls defence and they were up to the task.

Saints coach Robert Wilson replaced Chubby Lane with Hideo Masuda at centre half forward and the change produced instant results with Masuda goaling.

The game changed when a collision with Saints Donald Heslington left Bulls captain Steve Thompson groggy.

Thompson had been leading from the front putting his body on the line and taking vital marks across half back up to that point and although he shook off the knock to boot an inspirational goal his influence was not the same after the clash.

Saints kept Bulls scoreless for the remainder of the game with Mark Morgan in particular continuing his fine form at full back.

Bart Pigram and Mark Parriman began to find the football and when an unfortunate slip by Bulls fullback Keene saw the ball bounce over his head for a Saints goal the game was slipping away for Bulls.

The dynamic Masuda could have sealed the game hitting the post and then kicking another point.

After the majority of possession inaccurate kicking by Saints had left the door open for Bulls with a lead of just two goals, 6.12 to 5.6.

But Saints would not be denied and their leg speed was too much for Bulls in the final term.

Masuda struck the first blow giving Saints a vital goal and the spark they needed.

Waylon Pigram broke free and linked up with Michael Pigram to make it two goals straight for the first time in the match and when Lloyd Pigram ran around the man on the mark and goaled the wait for the premiership was over.

Bevan Yunupingu and then Waylon Pigram found the target, but by then the celebrations were well and truly under way.

Mark Parriman capped off a sensational performance winning the Fr McMahon medal for the fairest and best player.

(Courtesy : Mike Doyle - Broome Advertiser)

Video clips - cheer, circle, won, crowd.

Faces from 1979 premiership

Graham Fong

Ron Wade

John Puertollano and
Saints President 1979 Kevin Bullen

Steve Pigram - President 2005

Tony Hutcheson

Peter Marshall

Patches - Capt/Coach 1979

BK - Tristram Pigram

Eric Wade

Father McKelson founder of Saints - 1960