Formed: 1977 (Derby formed teams early in 1974 for their local competition. A committee was elected but after 3 games the committee lost it's drive and the competition waned. 1977 Derby had 2 teams Tigers and Marsh Rovers).  In the local competition in 1977 Tigers defeated Rovers by 7 goals under Captain/Coach Ted Dalton in their Grand Final.  The next year 1978, Tigers and Rovers entered the Broome competition.

Premierships: 1984

WKFL Fairest and Best Winners: 1981 Mark Norval, 2015 Gerrick Weedon, 2017 Wade Wungundin, 2018 Wade Wungundin.

Fr. Mc Mahon medal - (Best on the ground in the Grand Final 2012 - Scott Mc Kenzie)

Hall of Fame: Pat Murphy (Captain/Coach in 1978 later played for South Fremantle), Bruce Kneal, Gary Frost (previously played for East Perth)

Derby entered Tigers and Rovers into the Broome competition from 1978 until 1982, withdrew in 1983 and combined as the Derby Hawks in 1984.

1984: Derby Hawks lost only one game during the season to Roos by 9 points but went on to win their first ever football premiership. They beat Saints 16.10 to 11.8. Hawks built up a five goal lead at the outset. Saints made a big effort in the third quarter but Derby stormed home in the last quarter to win by six goals.

By 1991 they played as the Derby Magpies and in Broome as well as running their own local competition. However, in 1992 they concentrated all their efforts into a 4 team local competition.

Derby  Tigers (1978-1982, 2009 - present day),

Marsh rovers 1978,

Hawks -1984,

Derby Magpies: 1991,

Derby Lightning 2005,

Mowanjum Hawks 2005

Marsh Rovers 1978: Paul Lane, Colin Ozies, Jimmy Edgar, Underboodie Edgar, Sam Oriti and ....


Runner up.  Ted Dalton (President and Vice Captain)  R McClellan (Captain), A Smith (Coach), G Sariago (Fairest and Best)